PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] Compiz with two monitors WITHOUT TwinView

UBod
February 4th, 2011, 01:40 PM
Hi,

I am sorry if this has been discussed already. I tried my best to find a solution myself (and I checked all kinds of forums too). Maybe I should add that I am not an expert in configuring Linux stuff. Here is my question:

I recently installed Ubuntu 10.10 (32bit) on an HP compaq nc6400 laptop (internal display is 1280x800, graphics card is an Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS, 943/940GML Express) which I am using in three situations:

In my office: external monitor (1280x1024), laptop in docking station with lid closed
At home/on travel: as it is, without any external monitor
When giving lectures: with projector (1024x786), lid open, same output on projector and internal display

As you see, I either want one output device only or both showing the same output. Additionally, I want to run compiz. My problem is that, whenever I (1) connect an external display or (2) when I press the Fn+F4 key to change displays or (3) sometimes even when I open/close the laptop's lid, the system at some point switches to TwinView which seems not to work with compiz on my system. The effect is that compiz is deactivated. When I want to have it back, I have to open the appearance settings and change to extra visual effects again. Unfortunately, that reverts compiz to default settings and I have to adjust my compiz settings again. Please note that compiz works properly in all three situations I listed above. The problem is "only" that, at some point, it switches to TwinView.

So my question comes down to: Is there a way to tell X or compiz NEVER TO CHANGE TO TWINVIEW? I guess that would solve my problem.

Sorry for my lenghty message. Any help is gratefully appreciated!

Thanks in advance,
UBod

Copper Bezel
February 4th, 2011, 04:26 PM