PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual booting: Booting into Ubuntu from grub.

digital_nite
February 2nd, 2011, 05:26 AM
Hello to all,
I'm a newbie and can't get to linux on my external hard drive. I recently did a full install of Ubuntu 10.10 and am currenly running XP on my main drive. When I boot I can choose to go to my ext hard drive, which holds Ubuntu, but I'm stuck with a grub command line. What do I need to do to boot into Ubuntu from grub?

Thanks for the help,
digital_nite

kansasnoob
February 2nd, 2011, 08:43 AM
With the external drive connected boot an Ubuntu Live CD and then post the output of the Boot Info Script as described here:

http://bootinfoscript.sourceforge.net/

digital_nite
February 4th, 2011, 06:25 AM
Hello kansasnoob (http://ubuntuforums.org/member.php?u=554595),
I just realized that i can't even get access to Ubuntu. For some reason the live CD won't let me in any longer. Should I reformat the external drive? What are your ideas?

digital_nite

Quackers
February 4th, 2011, 11:11 AM
Hmm, you can't fix it, or re-install it without the live cd working. Maybe you could check your bios boot priority settings?

digital_nite
February 5th, 2011, 10:06 PM
Hmm, you can't fix it, or re-install it without the live cd working. Maybe you could check your bios boot priority settings?
Hi Quakers,
I should have realized what you pointed out. I can access the "door" to Ubuntu by changing my boot priority settings; I can boot to grub. However, I don't know what to do to accesss Ubuntu from there. I'm just stuck at a "grub>" command line. What commands should I throw at grub to get into ubuntu? By the way, I tried the boot command and it said something about no kernal being loaded. I don't know anything about loading a kernal or if loading one would help me.

Thanks,
digital_nite

kansasnoob
February 5th, 2011, 10:20 PM
What happens when you try to boot the Live CD?

digital_nite
February 6th, 2011, 01:11 AM
What happens when you try to boot the Live CD?