PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Trying to set up a server

stalemath
February 1st, 2011, 10:47 PM
I am trying to set up a server using the tutorial here: http://www.bit-tech.net/bits/2007/06/05/build_your_own_server/1

However, I am using Xubuntu 10.04 and I'm encountering some issues since this tutorial was written for an older version.

Is there any good guide that can be suggested to me for this since I am new to Linux?

rudelgurke
February 1st, 2011, 10:54 PM
And what are the issues ? Installation, Samba, Ftp, SSH, VNC configuration or something else ?
Basically this guide should still work.

stalemath
February 1st, 2011, 10:59 PM
Well, when I got to the 4th step (Samba), I encountered some differences in the smb.conf file, however, I think I may have done that part correctly. I am now to access my server (bottom of 4th page : \\(whatever the IP of the server is)\homes ) from a Mac, and can't exactly figure that out.

rudelgurke
February 1st, 2011, 11:14 PM
And if you run "smbclient -L _the_ip_of_your_server_" your shares are correctly shown ?
If so, problem may be on the client or authentication related that your Mac can't authenticate against your Samba server.
In both cases - /var/log/samba.log - might be helpful to provide additional information what may be wrong.

stalemath
February 1st, 2011, 11:45 PM
And if you run "smbclient -L _the_ip_of_your_server_" your shares are correctly shown ?
If so, problem may be on the client or authentication related that your Mac can't authenticate against your Samba server.
In both cases - /var/log/samba.log - might be helpful to provide additional information what may be wrong.

I don't think anything went wrong (yet)... I am just trying to connect to the server through a Mac. I don't know how.

rudelgurke
February 1st, 2011, 11:53 PM
http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1568

Maybe helps then on how to connect via OSX to a Samba share. :)

If the problem is just related to the Mac on the client side.

stalemath