PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Newbie: How do I install Ubuntu on XP machine that won't boot?

amstocks
February 1st, 2011, 02:05 PM
Hi.

I haven't used Linux/Ubuntu before but I feel the time has come!

My parents Windows XP Dell machine won't boot (says it's corrupt, stops itself before windows loads). It's been dragged down by virus/malmare lately and is fairly sick.

I'm no Windows expert and can't seem to fix it, but I thought if I install Ubuntu for them they'd be alright, get them away from Windows for good….but can anyone tell me in very simple terms the procedure I need to go through to install Ubuntu.

I can download Ubuntu now on my machine and burn it onto a CD or put it on a USB stick.

I'm especially keen to know how to ensure I retrieve all their data (mostly photos...they do have back up system but I've no guarantee it's actually be working lately).

Many thanks!

mharrison
February 1st, 2011, 02:09 PM
I would say burn the ISO to a CD and stick it in their machine. It will get you to a screen with two options...Try Ubuntu and Install Ubuntu.

I would suggest the Try Ubuntu option. From here you should be able to mount their hard drive and dig around for any data you can get to. After you do this, there will be a shortcut on the LiveCD's desktop that says Install Ubuntu. Follow the prompts and away you go. I might suggest you shrink the Windows partition so if you find out later you missed that photo of you as a baby you can go back in to the Windows partition and find it ;)

mharrison
February 1st, 2011, 02:10 PM
Now I know you technically won't be dual booting, I would read over this: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WindowsDualBoot

It has some good tips on resizing the Windows partitions and such.

Good luck.

jroa
February 1st, 2011, 02:15 PM