PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Sunflower File Manager tgz.....not happening

Splat_NJ
January 29th, 2011, 07:37 PM
I d/l the Sunflower File Manager tgz file to install into Ubuntu. I already have the Build-Essential package installed. When I go to the directory I extracted the Sunflower's tgz files to and type in a shell "./configure" I get an error: "bash: ./configure: No such file or directory" Well, yes... looking into the Sunflower directory there is no such file or subfolder there. Now I admit I'm not an Ubuntu expert but IIRC I've done a few tgz installs like this and they went fine. What am I doing wrong here? Thanks.

oldos2er
January 30th, 2011, 02:45 AM
It's a Python app. In a terminal, "cd" to the Sunflower folder, and run python ./Sunflower.py

Splat_NJ
January 30th, 2011, 04:05 AM
Thank you, Ann. I'll give this a shot. BTW, I'm also an old DOS person, myself. :)

Splat_NJ
January 30th, 2011, 04:12 AM
Well Ann, it worked, but I get this error upon executing:

WARNING **: Trying to register gtype 'WnckWindowMoveResizeMask' as enum when in fact it is of type 'GFlags'

I think I'll stick with Nautilus for now. I really wanted something with dual panes, but how hard is it to hit F3 for the extra pane anyway..? :) Thanks again.

oldos2er
January 30th, 2011, 09:19 PM
There is Gnome Commander, a two-pane file manager that's available in the repositories.
sudo apt-get install gnome-commander

MeanEYE
February 9th, 2011, 05:29 PM
Well Ann, it worked, but I get this error upon executing:

WARNING **: Trying to register gtype 'WnckWindowMoveResizeMask' as enum when in fact it is of type 'GFlags'

I think I'll stick with Nautilus for now. I really wanted something with dual panes, but how hard is it to hit F3 for the extra pane anyway..? :) Thanks again.