PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Using Ubuntu to Recover Files from a Windows Laptop

RaptorThreeSix
January 28th, 2011, 04:18 PM
All,

I'm trying to work around this without my normal techie available to help, and I'm a complete noob when it comes to this sort of thing--I probably know just enough to get myself in trouble, but here goes:

First off, I'm working on an HP Pavilion dv7 that's had some serious boot issues with Windows Vista64. I never partitioned any of the drives, I didn't back up (for shame!) and now I'm trying to recover what I can from that data set. This has happened to me before on other computers, and with one a friend of mine managed to use Ubuntu to at least allow me access to some of the files on my hard drive before he reformatted it. I'm running Ubuntu 10.10 off of the LiveCD.

Anyways, I've got a liveCD, it's finally working (I was having some sort of error with the "Unclean File System", it eventually allowed me to boot anyways). So, I'd say that I'm about halfway there. My question is what is needed for the rest of the process? Do I need to fully install Ubuntu (currently I'm just rolling off the LiveCD)? Will I need to partition off files and such in order to gain access to what is saved on my laptop? How would I go about doing that?

Again, sorry for the relative noob-ness, and thanks to any help in advance.

Respectfully,
Raptor

Rubi1200
January 28th, 2011, 05:58 PM
Hi and welcome to the forums :-)

If the goal is to just save data from Windows, then no you do not have to install Ubuntu.

Use the Nautilus file browser to find what you need and save to an external medium (HDD, USB stick etc.)

Try first under Places to locate the Windows partition. You may also have to go to Computer > and then look from there.

RaptorThreeSix
January 28th, 2011, 06:35 PM
OK, there seems to be an issue, as I don't know what Nautilus is. Where would I find that? I looked in the Applications section, and I didn't see it there....