PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] canon mp620 printer

malp
January 28th, 2011, 11:16 AM
Hi
As i have mentioned before i am extremely new to ubuntu linux but i have followed the introduction document advised in my last post and i am really impressed with the desktop i have been able to change to. I was considering changing ubuntu to my first choice boot option until i tried to add my printer a canon mp620 all in one. there are no drivers for it but i have found a ppd which is
ppdm620-630en-1.5
I used this and it installed but now complains of a missing file
pstocanonij
I have read other posts and forums about this and some i do not understand. please make it easy step by step as i do not understand the commands yet. Others mention getting files from canon australia which do not exist or mention connecting the printer wireless. I just want the printer to work over usb.
a computer without a scanner and printer is useless to me and i do want to use ubuntu.
please any suggestions
all the best
malc

anglican
January 28th, 2011, 11:53 AM
pstocanonij
Try opening a terminal and typing:

mkdir canon
cd canon
wget http://de.software.canon-europe.com/files/soft31301/software/MP630_debian_drivers.tar
tar xvf MP630_debian_drivers.tar
wget http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/universe/c/cups/libcupsys2_1.3.9-17ubuntu3.9_all.deb
sudo dpkg -i libcupsys2_1.3.9-17ubuntu3.9_all.deb
tar xvf MP630_debian_printer.tar
sudo dpkg -i cnijfilter-common_3.00-1_i386.deb

Let us know how you get on.

H

fabricator4
January 28th, 2011, 12:49 PM
Hi
boot option until i tried to add my printer a canon mp620 all in one. there are no drivers for it but i have found a ppd which is
ppdm620-630en-1.5
pstocanonij

Ah yes, Canon. The best technology - electronics, inks, innovative ideas... and the absolute worst approach to driver support on the planet. They wouldn't make ******* drivers available except they managed to figure out they wouldn't sell any product otherwise.