PDA

View Full Version : bug reporting idea

brentoboy
April 29th, 2006, 02:12 AM
I have a few observations, followd by a suggestion.

I have no idea how things actually work in this area, so dont be offended if I am way out in left field on this issue.

here is the observation:

people post stuff on these forums. they post bugs, precieved bugs, questions, problems, worries, excitement--everything.

these forums are the pulse of ubuntu. If you put your finger on these threads, then you know the exact current status of the ubuntu project.
--
now, for good reasons, the ubuntu designers and developers dont waste hours wading though all the stuff--most of it is crap anyway. I write software for a living, and I dont have time to wade through "reported" bugs and concerns. Our tech support guys dont even wade through it all, they just answer questions until people are working again, and then move on.

but, I can see that many many bugs get reported here by people asking for help, and I am sure that the bugs never get reported. It is like editing the wiki, people are affraid to do something as official as report a bug--they dont even know if it is a bug, reporting a bug means second guessing the developers--and to noobs, there is no way in their mind that the developers were wrong. so the bug goes unreported.

I am a dapper user, but I dont report bugs. I assume there are hundreds of people reporting the same bugs--but I am startingto thing I am wrong, some of my bugs are noticed by hundreds, but not reportd by any.
---
now, ubuntu sets out to be the best desktop distro.

and, why would anyone do something like create ubuntu unless they wanted to be the best.

And I can see a need that probably isnt being filled.