PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 10.04 and Nvidia Drivers

sumdude616
January 27th, 2011, 06:15 AM
Hey how's it going.. I'm pretty new to Ubuntu and so far have loved it. I've ran into a problem tonight where I restarted my computer because my mouse wasn't responding. When I turned the computer back on everything started loading up properly and then the bottom half of the screen went black covering my wallpaper but when i run my cursor over Docky, Docky still comes up but with the black area still there Pictures will show what i'm talking about. I tried to restart my computer once again to see if maybe it was just an error but it kept doing the same thing. All of a sudden I get another error that the computer has to run in low graphics mode? (NOTE: When the screen first lights up to ask for my password the entire screen works, once I enter my password 5secs will go by and then the bottom half goes black again.) So i didn't know why it was doing this. I went to Systems>Admin>NVIDIA X Server Settings. When I clicked on that to maybe change the resolution or see if anything in there could fix the problem I was confronted with --You do not appear to be using the NVIDIA X driver. Please edit your X configuration file (just run `nvidia-xconfig` as root), and restart the X server.--

I tried re-downloading NVIDIA but I figure before I mess this up anymore than I already have I should just seek help from someone who knows what they are doing..Can I get any help Please and Thank You.http://i57.photobucket.com/albums/g206/sumdude4663/Screenshot-3.pnghttp://i57.photobucket.com/albums/g206/sumdude4663/Screenshot-4.png

Oh also when I tried to run nvidia-xconfig I go:

Using X configuration file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf".

ERROR: Unable to write to directory '/etc/X11'.

Townley89
January 27th, 2011, 09:18 AM