PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] GRUB - Cannot start Win XP after installation of UBUNTU 10.10

Strolchi
January 26th, 2011, 09:03 PM
Hello,
after I finally successfully installed ubuntu, I cannot start Windows from the GRUB start menue.

Since I am an absolute beginner, please please, help.

BR

Strolchi

Quackers
January 26th, 2011, 09:05 PM
When booting do you get a grub menu, or does Ubuntu boot up directly?
Have you run
sudo update-grub from the terminal, in Ubuntu?

Strolchi
January 26th, 2011, 09:16 PM
Thanks for that ultrafast reply,

I get a full normal menue, when i select win, ubuntu is loaded. Probably I should mention that after installation a system update was installed (from .22 to 24), but in my opp. that should have nothing to do with grub.
Sorry for my typing, I have to do it with my left hand only because I broke the right yesterday.
BR
Strolchi

Logiwonk
January 26th, 2011, 09:22 PM
Out of curiosity, which install options did you use when you installed Ubuntu to start with (e.g. did you give it its own hard drive, did you use the advanced partition editor?)?

Quackers
January 26th, 2011, 09:25 PM
There is an entry for Windows in the grub menu? When you choose that, Ubuntu boots, is that correct?

Strolchi
January 26th, 2011, 09:35 PM
Hello Logiwonk,
I selected:
1. next to another op system
2. boot drive c: with Win XP
3. for all other prim partitions as recommended

There is one thing that should be mentioned. There is a second drive with a mbr on it. Could it be that that drive (mrr) disturbs grub.

Otherwise Win XP was a clean new install, the same for UBUNTU.

BR

Strolchi

Strolchi
January 26th, 2011, 09:39 PM
Hello Quakers,

yes thats correct, its boots UBUNTU.

Strolchi

Strolchi
January 26th, 2011, 09:52 PM
Hello Quakers,
you asked me if I ran this grub update routine
sudo update-grub
no I did not, I am a beginner.

What does it do it.

drs305
January 26th, 2011, 09:57 PM