PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Having to boot with nomodeset

shinobilunchbox
January 24th, 2011, 02:46 AM
Hey all, first post and in advance sorry for the Noobishness.

I recently installed Ubuntu 10.04 onto my computer. In order to get it to install, I had to boot with nomodeset, because I was getting "no signal input" Trying to install it regularly. Now everything is installed, and when I try to boot, I still get the "no signal input". The only way I was able to make this post, is by using the option of "Try ubuntu before you install" and booting with nomodeset.

Now Obviously I have done a little bit of research and discovered, it was because I have an Nvidia graphics card. What I need is a step by step guide to fixing this problem. This is my first time using ubuntu, and I would like to learn to use it and get the hang of it. Thanks in advance.

confused57
January 24th, 2011, 05:18 AM
Welcome to the forum & to Ubuntu, don't worry we were all "noobs" at one time. I'll try to help, although I'm using mostly Ubuntu 8.04, which uses grub vs 10.04, which uses grub2.

If you're dual booting, you should see a grub menu at boot. If you're not dual booting, I think you have to press shift(?) to get to the grub menu...someone else may be able to tell you for sure(for grub, it's the "esc" key).

Anyway, once you get the grub menu, make sure the first Ubuntu entry is highlighted, press "e" to edit. Press the up/down arrows to highlight the kernel line, navigate to the end of the line, remove quiet & splash, then enter nomodeset. Press ctrl+x to boot. This should get you to the desktop, then you can System--->Administration--->Hardware Drivers.
Install the Nvidia proprietary driver, which should then allow you to boot your pc.

Someone will probably chime in if I've missed a step.

sikander3786
January 24th, 2011, 09:08 PM