PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unable to install but can run from live USB

sumanatphp@gmail.com
January 23rd, 2011, 08:31 AM
Hi guys .... I am new to Ubuntu .... I was trying to install ubuntu on my old IBM desktop. but it is just hanging not continuing the installation.... desktop has p4 processor, 2.8 Ghz, and 2.5 gb ram.... I can run ubuntu from usb but could not install help me guys,....

Thanks in advance

Quackers
January 23rd, 2011, 08:34 AM
Welcome to UF :-)
At what stage is it hanging? What happens and when?

sumanatphp@gmail.com
January 23rd, 2011, 08:37 AM
Thank you ........

it happens randomly... sometimes after selecting keyboard options and sometimes after i see the screen that have options

minmum 2.6 Gb requires,
internet connected... etc....

Quackers
January 23rd, 2011, 08:44 AM
Have you checked the MD5SUM of the downloaded iso file?
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowToMD5SUM

If that checks out ok, whilst booting from the disc press the Esc key. You should see a new screen. After choosing language there should be some options to choose from. Choose the one that checks the cd for errors.

sumanatphp@gmail.com
January 23rd, 2011, 08:50 AM
i did check for md5... it says ok..... but i dont have cddrive,.... i am trying to install from USB,.... after selecting language ...its asking for time zone and next goes to keyboard... i selected USA and clicked forward... hangs up....

i tried another way ... try ubuntu from usb -> clicked install ubuntu.... but same thing happens ... but a small star mark that comes up on top saying parted_server crashed unexpectedly

Quackers
January 23rd, 2011, 08:57 AM
It is irrelevant that you are using the usb, I think it can still be checked for errors. Did you try pressing the Esc key before the purple screen appears?

sumanatphp@gmail.com
January 23rd, 2011, 09:25 AM