PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Internet "stops working" after being connected for about a minute



pound_forthesound
January 21st, 2011, 03:56 PM
Hi everyone,

my netbook (running 10.10) has recently decided to only work with my wireless for a short while after connecting. After this time, it just won't load a page at all, but remains connected to the router. Disconnecting then reconnecting to the network allows me to use the internet again, but only for a short while. This is a recent problem, and the netbook used to "just work" with wireless. Anyone have any idea what's gone wrong?

Harry

emarcelcom
January 21st, 2011, 04:03 PM
Hi Mate,

how about other devices you've got connected to that router? Are they working properly or this is only one device you have?

let's try for the beginning the following:
run terminal and:
1. issue a command "ifconfig" paste results
2. issue a command "iwconfig" paste results
3. issue command "route"
4. issue "ping google.com" command after you've lost connection and paste the results here.

Cheers!!

pound_forthesound
January 21st, 2011, 04:51 PM
Hi,

I have a desktop connected via ethernet that is functioning fine (typing on it now). Also a blackberry that is working fine over the wireless. Here are the outputs you asked for:

1.

harry@harry-laptop:~$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:26:18:6e:5e:a3
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:44

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:58 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:58 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:5555 (5.5 KB) TX bytes:5555 (5.5 KB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:25:d3:46:49:92
inet addr:192.168.0.2 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::225:d3ff:fe46:4992/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:293 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:196 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:74337 (74.3 KB) TX bytes:40025 (40.0 KB)

harry@harry-laptop:~$

2.

harry@harry-laptop:~$ iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11bgn ESSID:"virginmedia2486695"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.432 GHz Access Point: C0:3F:0E:C0:27:A4
Bit Rate=150 Mb/s Tx-Power=20 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Power Management:on
Link Quality=41/70 Signal level=-69 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

harry@harry-laptop:~$

3.

harry@harry-laptop:~$ route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.0.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 2 0 0 wlan0
link-local * 255.255.0.0 U 1000 0 0 wlan0
default 192.168.0.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 wlan0
harry@harry-laptop:~$

4.

harry@harry-laptop:~$ ping google.com
ping: unknown host google.com
harry@harry-laptop:~$


Thanks for the help :)

pound_forthesound
January 21st, 2011, 07:40 PM
I just tried running a live USB of 10.10 on the netbook, and the same problem occurred... Does this imply some kind of hardware problem?

ravengangrel
January 23rd, 2011, 10:05 AM
Please, check this.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...7#post10388907 (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=10388907#post10388907)

If my workaround works for you, please, post your hardware config in my thread. I would like to know if this is related to some particular hardware.