PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How do I run Ubuntu from a flash drive?

metrogdor22
January 19th, 2011, 12:22 AM
Hi, I'm a complete beginner at Ubuntu. I have Windows XP on my computer, but would like to run Ubuntu. However, I don't want to install it on my hard drive. So I figured I would just install it to, and run it from, a flash drive. I've seen some mixed instructions on how to do this. I want to have Ubuntu(and nothing else) on a flash drive. When I plug the flash drive in, I boot from it via BIOS setup. Then it's running Ubuntu directly from the flash drive. Anything I do, save, or install is saved to the flash drive. When I shut down the computer, and unplug the flash drive, then reboot it,nothing in XP has changed. Next time I boot from the flash drive, everything that was previously on it, is still on it(I plan to use a 32 or 64GB flash drive, or I might even step up to a portable hard drive). How do I do this? I've heard something about a "live" installation of Ubuntu? Can someone give me a link to it(not just www.ubuntu.com)? (http://www.ubuntu.com%29?) Also, a step-by-step guide would be very helpful(if it's not just as simple as installing to the flash drive). Thank you!

jimmers
January 19th, 2011, 07:23 PM
Try this tutorial
p { margin-bottom: 0.21cm; }a:link { } I was reading How to install Ubuntu Linux from USB Stick (http://www.ubuntugeek.com/how-to-install-ubuntu-linux-from-usb-stick.html) posted on this site a while ago, and found it to be quite some work to get Ubuntu working on a USB stick. Besides, having to prepare your USB device, creating a separate partition on it which will be more or less “useless” after the installation, giving up 750MB of space?
There had to be a better way.
Together with a colleague of mine, I decided to figure out whether there could be an easier way to install Ubuntu on a USB device.
I found a way of doing it in a much simpler way… without creating the separate partition to store the LiveCD: