PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I messed up network settings/router



pstrbrc
January 18th, 2011, 04:29 PM
Ubuntu server w/gui, LAMP
was able to get it set up behind a belkin router using info from
http://www.zaphu.com/2007/08/07/ubuntu-lamp-server-setup-guide-with-desktop-gui/, downloaded a typo3 based cms, have it installed. All of theis time I was using the server computer itself to follow instructions on the web by using Firefox browzer on the gui. Everything worked, I was able to ping all other computers on the lan as well as load websites, etc. That was last night. This morning I can access my website from another computer on the lan both from my web ip address, as well as my lan ip address. What I can't do is ping anything past my lan from my web server machine. Now, I haven't changed any router settings, so I'm wondering if I messed up my etc/network/interfaces file in any way. The only thing I did late yesterday was to load bind9 and begin setting up a dns server function for my lan. Again, following the instructions of the Zaphu site.

Here is what etc/network/interfaces looks like:

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static

address 192.168.2.4
netmask 255.255 255.0
network 193.168.2.0
broadcast 192.168.2.255
gateway 192.168.2.0


Now, I'm posting this from another computer on my lan, so I know my router is communicating with the web. What do I check next?

volkswagner
January 18th, 2011, 04:40 PM
Did you make a typo? "network" says 193 not 192

volkswagner
January 18th, 2011, 04:44 PM
Did you make a typo? "network" says 193 not 192

What is output of
[code]route[code/]

pstrbrc
January 18th, 2011, 05:44 PM
Did you make a typo? "network" says 193 not 192

What is output of
[code]route[code/]

Yep. typo.

Output of
route is (remember, I can't copy and paste this, so I'll try to type it in the format that the terminal writes it, but...)


pstrbrc@xxxserver:~/Desktop$ route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.2.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
link-local * 255.255.0.0 U 1000 0 0 eth0
default 192.168.2.1 0.0.0.0 UG 100 0 0 eth0
pstrbrc@.......

spynappels
January 18th, 2011, 05:45 PM
Also your gateway is incorrect, it cannot be 192.168.2.0 as that is not a permitted IP address in the subnet. It should probably be 192.168.2.1, but it should definitely point to the IP of your router.

spynappels
January 18th, 2011, 05:51 PM
Also your gateway is incorrect, it cannot be 192.168.2.0 as that is not a permitted IP address in the subnet. It should probably be 192.168.2.1, but it should definitely point to the IP of your router.

HugoSerrano
January 18th, 2011, 07:20 PM
install openssh-server in your server so you can connect to him from other machine.
from other machine console:
ssh user@192.168.2.4

then you can copy past things :-P
But probably you wont be able to install it, you need the network connection!

Like spynapples said, your gateway can't be that one. Maybe another typo? But the what you describe match with that error in the configuration file.

Regards.