PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Total newb... Win7 laptop.. Windows Installer?

tombihn
January 17th, 2011, 09:39 PM
I've been browsing the forums and searching for terms such as A52F, Installer, Windows Installer... so far, I'm not exactly sure I'm following the right path. I'm sure this question must've been asked already, but can't seem to locate it.

So, after all that, here's the question.

I purchased an ASUS A52F laptop with Windows 7 64 bit on it. I adjusted the partitioning to give me a 100GB partition to play with Ubuntu. I went to download and saw there was a windows installer for it, so I am currently downloading this into the new D (Ubuntu) partition I created and quick formatted using Windows 7. Should I be downloading to the C drive or was it the right thing to download to the D drive? By the instructions, it looks like I'll get a boot menu when the system restarts.

I guess I need reassurance I'm going the right direction and hopefully to save a few hours of downloading again with another method or two lol.

CodeToad
January 17th, 2011, 09:49 PM
Google WUBI (Windows UBuntu Installer).

tombihn
January 17th, 2011, 10:22 PM
Thanks I'll do that.

It looks like the installer wasn't what I was looking for exactly. It seems it installed the installation files on the D partition, but I didn't see the D partition when it booted into Ubuntu, only the C partition.

The installer went very smoothly and was very fast. It was apparently for 10.04 LTR. I think I'll download an ISO and see if I can shove it into my D partition.

I was hoping to keep the two OS's segregated to prevent issues. I'm surprised you can have two OS's installed in the same partition.

wilee-nilee
January 17th, 2011, 10:36 PM
Thanks I'll do that.

It looks like the installer wasn't what I was looking for exactly. It seems it installed the installation files on the D partition, but I didn't see the D partition when it booted into Ubuntu, only the C partition.