PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can not mount dev loop0...

quethefux
January 17th, 2011, 07:06 PM
Hello!

As you can probably tell, I'm a noob to Ubuntu! I hope I'm not being stupid and nooby for asking this, but I think I'm making a silly mistake! The trouble I'm having is that when I load a bootable USB/CD of 64bit 10.10, I always get an error that looks a little like:

"(initramfs) mount: mounting /dev/loop0 on //filesystem.squashfs failed: input/output error.

Can not mount /dev/loop0 (cdrom/casperfilesystem.squashfs) on //filesystem.squashfs."

I've done some googling and I've noticed people have had the same problem. They say the alternate downloads could be the problem, or the CD, and that I should use the UNetbootin application.

I guess I should start with describing my build:

Custom built
Core i7 920 @ 2.66ghz
Caviar Green 1TB HDD (I know, don't laugh)
ASUS P6T SE mobo
GTS 250 1GB
8gb DDR3 1333mhz
Dual monitor setup
uh, think that's about it. (I ran x64 M$ Pro before I wiped my HDD, if that's at all relevant.)

I've tried:
1. Going to the DL page, DLing 64bit 10.10, and mounting the image to create a bootable CD (by the procedure offered on the DL page).
2. Using Unetbootin to create a bootable USB (this I did multiple tmes, with different versions: 10.10 64bit desktop, 10.04 64 bit desktop, and I'm about to try another DL except I forgot which one I'm using, but I'll find out in a bit :P).

I'm not sure if it's that my hardware is just flat-out incompatible, or what? That would suck SO hard. (I was snooping around the hardware compatibility section and didn't find it very helpful--I'm a huge hardware freak, and still found it difficult to navigate... I think the list is a little lacking, imo!)

And, yes, I did change the boot priority depending on where I wanted to boot from--first thing I did! :p

Just to clarify, I do see the Ubuntu splash screen, and then after a little bit of waiting, I get that jankity error. :( Any insight would be helpful!