PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Graphics Upsidedown: Problem with Intel Drivers?

mbusha
January 17th, 2011, 03:18 PM
Hi all --

I'm fairly new to Ubuntu and hopefully I posted this query in the right category. I have a strange problem where the graphics on my screen appear upside down (see attached image of my Desktop -- I'm definitely not this good with photo shop!). Here's some additional information and background that may help:

I'm running Ubuntu 10.10 in gnome on a Lenovo T510 with nVidia NVS 3100M Optimus card.

Upon installation, the graphics generally appeared fine, although my laptop would frequently lock up when I connected an external monitor. To solve this, I (unsuccessfully) tried installing the nVidia drivers, eventually realizing that nVidia doesn't seem to support the 3100M Optimus card on linux. I removed al thel nvidia* packages I had installed using both Synaptic and then reinstalling the xserver-xorg nouveau and intel drivers in an attempt to return to my original configuration. This is when the graphics became upside down. There was also no xorg.conf file (there hadn't been one when I first installed ubuntu), but I was able to start the computer in limited graphics mode by copying /etc/X11/xorg.conf.failsafe to /etc/X11/xorg.conf. However, graphics effects utilities, such as compiz, stopped working.

Also, I don't think this is a screen rotation issue because 1) my mouse works correctly, 2) the inversion seems to be happening almost at the icon, in that the top toolbar remains at the top of the screen, it's just inverted, and 3) (this is probably the strangest bit) the desktop icons and menu locations are "where they should be" as opposed to "where they appear." In other words, if I want to open the file whose icon appears in the bottom left corner of my desktop in the attached image, I need to click on the apparently empty space in the top right corner where the icon would be if the graphics weren't inverted.