PDA

View Full Version : WoW runs miserably on new Ubuntu netbook

ericsimmons
January 15th, 2011, 09:04 PM
I am new to Ubuntu and running 10.04.

I installed Wine and am running WOW on a brand new 1.5 ghz / 2 gig ram netbook.

FPS is sooo bad, it's like .2 fps in starting zones. It's utterly ridiculous and the specs should be able to handle it. I don't understand what could be the problem.

Any ideas?

I8NY
January 15th, 2011, 09:09 PM
2 things: is the restricted graphics driver installed? and does it have intel sucky graphics?

ericsimmons
January 15th, 2011, 09:12 PM
Intel GMA 3150 graphics. I don't know the answer to the other question

NightwishFan
January 15th, 2011, 09:17 PM
World Of Warcraft is not supported by Blizzard (but generally works) on Linux/Wine platforms. The problem is Wine generally does not work well with Intel graphics, try Nvida for good results.

ericsimmons
January 15th, 2011, 09:34 PM
Well since we have established that Wine can't work with Intel graphics, I am still left with the problem of wanting to run WOW on this netbook. What are my other options for running WOW in Ubuntu?

I8NY
January 15th, 2011, 09:35 PM
You need the graphics card/chip driver to do 3D games to start. You can check to see if you can install it or already of it in System>Administration>Additional Driver. Since it is intel graphics they don't have enough power to run modern games or even some old games at a descent frame rate. A netbook was not made for gaming so don't try too hard trying to get it to run games. (2D ones are fine)

Elfy
January 15th, 2011, 09:38 PM
move to wine forum

cwwilson721
January 16th, 2011, 01:17 AM
Well since we have established that Wine can't work with Intel graphics, I am still left with the problem of wanting to run WOW on this netbook. What are my other options for running WOW in Ubuntu?Short answer:None

Long answer: NNoonnee

wog
January 16th, 2011, 05:27 AM