PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu installation questions

CP2
January 13th, 2011, 02:49 PM
Hello all. I'm only about 2 weeks new to Ubuntu. I have a couple questions.

1. Does Ubuntu Lucid or Maverick have a tool where you can install another version of Ubuntu over the currently used OS and still keep the settings? Please don't tell me just to do a backup. I know that's one of the obvious choices, but another obvious choice would be to use some type of upgrade wizard.

2. Between Lucid and Maverick, which one do you prefer? I was on the #Ubuntu channel and a couple guys were kind of clowning me because I'm a newb who started with Maverick and ended up installing Lucid on the same disk different partition. They said I should have simply stuck with Maverick. I was told that Lucid was more stable and what not. I thought this might help with my not being able to boot up Ubuntu on the 1st, 2nd, or 3rd try problem that I've been having.

ErikNJ
January 13th, 2011, 03:16 PM
Hello all. I'm only about 2 weeks new to Ubuntu. I have a couple questions.

1. Does Ubuntu Lucid or Maverick have a tool where you can install another version of Ubuntu over the currently used OS and still keep the settings? Please don't tell me just to do a backup. I know that's one of the obvious choices, but another obvious choice would be to use some type of upgrade wizard.

What settings do you wish to keep? Is it just for applications like email, web-browser, etc?

CP2
January 13th, 2011, 03:27 PM
What settings do you wish to keep? Is it just for applications like email, web-browser, etc?

Well more than just setting, but programs and files that I downloaded. Mainly mediatomb settings, conky script, and a few other programs i downloaded. I can download the programs again, but I'm more concerned with conky and mediatomb because I worked so hard and long (get your head out of the gutter) to get it where I wanted.

0N3
January 13th, 2011, 03:28 PM
Partition your HD in 3

/(root)
/home
swap