PDA

View Full Version : Alternative Linux Community

micha8l
January 13th, 2011, 07:02 AM
Hey,

I've been using linux for about three months and there forums actively for about 2. I switched from WinXP to Ubuntu, as I was gettin' tired of following programming guides that constantly suggested things that weren't possible in WinXP without huge effort.

I've noticed these forums are good for help, but it seems to lack "community spirit :p". Also, none of my friends use Linux so when Apache throws an a fit, I'm kind of restricted to the Internet for help. So I was wondering if there are any good alternative Linux communities out there preferably with a active chat system and far less users than these forums, maybe a forum that specializes in Linux/PHP/ZendFramework - that should narrow it down enough :D

Kind Regards,
Mike

NightwishFan
January 13th, 2011, 07:09 AM
Even if you do not use OpenSUSE, the opensuse forums are fairly good. I have usually found great answers here though.

NightwishFan
January 13th, 2011, 07:12 AM
You can use IRC for real time help. :)

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/InternetRelayChat

earthpigg
January 13th, 2011, 07:22 AM
Been to any of your local LUG meetings?

micha8l
January 13th, 2011, 07:38 AM
Thanks for the IRC channel NightwishFan, never used IRC before, but gonna try now.

Never earthpigg, although this is something I would like to attend, I tried my local one "Liverpool", but it seems there's a 404 Error http://livlug.org.uk/ - typical lol

Elfy
January 13th, 2011, 08:28 AM
irc://irc.freenode.net/#livlug

Try them on irc.

ilovelinux33467
January 13th, 2011, 08:38 AM
Even if you do not use OpenSUSE, the opensuse forums are fairly good.

I'll second that

1clue
January 13th, 2011, 08:58 AM
Haven't tried OpenSuse forums for years, so I can't say about that.