PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Shutdown problem

elldirash
January 12th, 2011, 12:13 PM
On my Desktop, whenever i try to shutdown, the system stop the disks, but leaves the screen on and the fans running. It leaves the message

[ 367.604109] Power Down

on the screen, with the number being different from time to time. This is also the final output with the --debug kernel option on.

I have tried various fixes to similar power problems that i've found, e.g. adding apm power_off=1 to /etc/modules but none have seemed to work so far. I'm relatively new to Linux so any help would be greatly appreciated.

mister_p_1998
January 12th, 2011, 12:18 PM
On my Desktop, whenever i try to shutdown, the system stop the disks, but leaves the screen on and the fans running. It leaves the message

[ 367.604109] Power Down

on the screen, with the number being different from time to time. This is also the final output with the --debug kernel option on.

I have tried various fixes to similar power problems that i've found, e.g. adding apm power_off=1 to /etc/modules but none have seemed to work so far. I'm relatively new to Linux so any help would be greatly appreciated.

I think you need to add to the line in grub where it says the kernel ACPI=off on the end if I remember rightly. Is it an old PC? they have problems with shutting down properly..
see here:
Kernel Options

Note: These options are used by the kernel, and will apply to any installation at any time. The file "Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt" in the relevant linux-source package provides more information.

Option

Impact

vga=xxx

Set your framebuffer resolution to VESA mode xxx. Check here for a list of possible modes.

acpi=off OR noacpi

This parameter disables the whole ACPI system. This may prove very useful, for example, if your computer does not support ACPI or if you think the ACPI implementation might cause some problems (for instance random reboots or system lockups).

acpi=force