PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] "Unhandaleable Error Occoured"

onewaylimited
January 12th, 2011, 12:05 PM
Every time I try to install a package a message pops up saying "An Unhandlable Error Has Occured"
IT then says this: There seems to be a programming error in aptdaemon, the software that allows you to install/remove software and to perform other package management related tasks. Please report this error at http://launchpad.net/aptdaemon/+filebug and retry. I am fairly new to ubuntu and i am running 10.10 Gnome. Please help!!!

wkulecz
January 12th, 2011, 04:46 PM
Report the error as it says, often at the launchpad site you will find the solution or a work-around.

onewaylimited
January 13th, 2011, 04:01 AM
I have done this and there is no patch. Any idea how to fix this?

sikander3786
January 13th, 2011, 07:36 AM
Welcome to the forums :-)

I suspect you are getting this error from Software Center only. It shouldn't appear in Synaptic or apt-get. Any how, please post the output of these commands.

Applications > Accessories > Terminal:

sudo apt-get install -f

sudo dpkg --configure -a

onewaylimited
January 13th, 2011, 12:03 PM
For the first one i got: E: Could not get lock /var/lib/dpkg/lock - open (11: Resource temporarily unavailable)
E: Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), is another process using it?

The second one i got: dpkg: status database area is locked by another process

I checked and software center is not running.

onewaylimited
January 13th, 2011, 12:10 PM
I dont know if this helps but, when i get the error and click on the details button, i get this

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/aptdaemon/worker.py", line 769, in simulate
return self._simulate_helper(trans, status_path)
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/aptdaemon/worker.py", line 948, in _simulate_helper
return depends, status, self._cache.required_download, \