PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] installing on already partitioned drive

spencerownside
January 12th, 2011, 07:36 AM
i am new to ubuntu and have been happy with most of my experiences so far. i have already converted several comps and would like to switch my main media comp over to ubuntu (away from vista). i have gone through the installation tutorials, wiped other hard-drives and successfully installed and begun running ubuntu elsewhere, and read through and looked at the screen-shots; so i feel pretty comfortable.
however, i just want to double-check.
my media comp is on vista. it has a partitioned drive; it is in total 750g, with 100g basically as the main drive- or "C". and the rest, the storage stuff is partitioned off into a "D" drive. the "C" & "D" drives are on the same physical drive- just the partition separates them.
i am just afraid to lose my media stuff: music and the such. it would really suck to lose all that. i am so close to freeing myself from microsoft but before i screw up the big hard-drive i was just hoping there is someone out there who has done this type of thing before and could assure me that the screen-shots that show this option are really there.
muchos gracias

sikander3786
January 12th, 2011, 08:25 AM
Welcome to the forums :-)

First of all, you need to be careful. I have done that stuff lots of time and never messed up any thing but remember, strong backup is the right path to proceed.

Secondly, you need to delete your C: drive and create at least 2 partitions in its place. 1 '/' Ubuntu System Partition and 2 'Swap' Partition.

But, before doing any thing else, I would suggest to boot an Ubuntu Live CD/USB and post the output of this command from Applications > Accessories > Terminal.

sudo fdisk -lu

We need to see how many partitions are there, how many Primary or Extended/Logical before advising any thing. And that output will help us know more about your setup ;-)

Rubi1200
January 12th, 2011, 08:25 AM