PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Please help a newbie...the Acer netbook grub "no such partition" error.

byzantophile
January 11th, 2011, 04:40 AM
Hello all. I am brand new to Ubuntu and really like it. Please forgive me for posting what I suspect is a problem many others have had...I've been searching this forum for several hours, but can't find a solution that seems to work. Sorry if this is repetitive, but I just don't understand the fix.

I have an Acer Eee PC 1001PX. It came with Windows 7 loaded on it. My friend gave me Ubuntu (I think it was 9.10 but not totally sure) on a flash drive to try, and if I liked it, install. I tried it, booting from the flash drive, for about a week and then decided this morning to install.

I should have had it replace Windows instead of install Ubuntu on another partition. My bad--I now realize Windows doesn't like to share power. Anyway, even with that, the computer did fine booting up with Ubuntu--it offered me a choice of whether to boot with that or Windows. No problems so far.

This afternoon I was booting up the computer and guess I accidentally hit the selection to boot Windows instead. After it tried to boot Windows, nothing would work. Now I get a blank screen and "error: no such partition," and below that, "grub rescue> ".

My situation is quite similar to this one which was posted a few months ago:
http://ubuntu-virginia.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1492072

I cannot access a CD-Rom because this computer has no CD-Rom drive.

I cannot boot from the USB flash drive. Although I can get in to the settings (via F2) and prioritized the boot-up locations, for some reason it won't boot from there.

No commands will work except for ls, set and insmod.