PDA

View Full Version : i have an idea for a distro, but....

u-noob-tu
January 10th, 2011, 02:19 PM
I havent the faintest idea of where to start. im not a programmer (i will be taking classes soon, but until then, i know nothing), but i think i have a really good idea for a linux distribution. im not looking to start right away, but i am looking for tips on where and how to start, and what kind of stuff i will need. if anybody has tips or even would like to take up the project please post and let me know.

WRDN
January 10th, 2011, 02:28 PM
You don't need any programming knowledge to create a Linux distribution.

Distributions are basically the Linux kernel, with goodies installed on top of it. I would recommend you pick a small distribution, and build yours on top of that. For example, you may pick Debian as the base system, then add and remove packages as you see fit.
If you want more control, you may even opt for something like Linux From Scratch (http://www.linuxfromscratch.org/), where [literally] everything is installed manually.

fatality_uk
January 10th, 2011, 02:29 PM
I havent the faintest idea of where to start. im not a programmer (i will be taking classes soon, but until then, i know nothing), but i think i have a really good idea for a linux distribution. im not looking to start right away, but i am looking for tips on where and how to start, and what kind of stuff i will need. if anybody has tips or even would like to take up the project please post and let me know.

I would suggest offering what skills you can to an exiting project. There are many, many distors and probably as many are Ubuntu re-spins and unless your distro will offer something that NO-ONE in any other distro is offering right now, then it's highly unlikely that you will get people queuing to offer their services.

Once you understand how to make a distro, then unleash yours onto the World!

KingYaba
January 10th, 2011, 03:22 PM