PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] UEC Private Network off of eth1



wcorey
January 10th, 2011, 01:51 PM
I have this problem I have been wrestling with for some time. The roots of this problem have to do with Ubuntu Enterprise Cloud configuration. To fast forward, On my desktop machine U10.10 Desktop I added the Eucalyptus 2.x packages so this machine will be my normal desktop (no Windows here) as well as cloud/cluster/storage controller for my cloud. Originally, 9.04 days, I had it installed on this machine and a second machine the node controller. Both machines were plugged into my router 192.168.0.0 and fed addresses from it. What I noticed was after a time the public (elastic IP) address of running instances would simply go away. I think the problem was how it renewed its lease...perhaps. So looking at the Eucalyptus diagrams that configuraton ONLY worked with System mode, not ManagedNoVlan as it was configured by Ubuntu on install.

So now I have my Desktop U10.10 Desktop on a machine with two NICs

eth0 - 192.168.0.0 (router is dhcp)
eth1 - 192.168.1.0 (dhcp3 is supposed to be dhcp for it)

eth1 goes to a Netgear 5 port switch. I have my old node controller and old cluster controller plugged into it and they, too, should be assigned addresses in the 192.168.1.x subnet.
<code>
walt@cor720:~$ sudo lspci|grep Ethernet
02:02.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme BCM5705 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 01)
05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme BCM5754 Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express (rev 02)
</code>

<code>walt@cor720:~$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1e:4f:b4:e2:b5
inet addr:192.168.0.6 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::21e:4fff:feb4:e2b5/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:19453 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:10325 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:21821968 (21.8 MB) TX bytes:2321573 (2.3 MB)
Interrupt:17

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:10:18:09:af:40
inet6 addr: fe80::210:18ff:fe09:af40/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:36 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2374 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:7385 (7.3 KB) TX bytes:771999 (771.9 KB)
Interrupt:18

eth1:avahi Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:10:18:09:af:40
inet addr:169.254.5.88 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
Interrupt:18
</code>

<code>
walt@cor720:~$ cat /etc/network/interfaces
# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

# The secondary network interface
#auto eth1
iface eth1 inet manual
address 192.168.1.1
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway 192.168.1.0
</code>

walt@cor720:~$ cat /etc/default/dhcp3-server
# Defaults for dhcp initscript
# sourced by /etc/init.d/dhcp
# installed at /etc/default/dhcp3-server by the maintainer scripts

#
# This is a POSIX shell fragment
#

# On what interfaces should the DHCP server (dhcpd) serve DHCP requests?
# Separate multiple interfaces with spaces, e.g. "eth0 eth1".
INTERFACES="eth1"
<code>
walt@cor720:~$ cat /etc/dhcp3/dhcpd.conf
#
# Sample configuration file for ISC dhcpd for Debian
#
# Attention: If /etc/ltsp/dhcpd.conf exists, that will be used as
# configuration file instead of this file.
#
# $Id: dhcpd.conf,v 1.1.1.1 2002/05/21 00:07:44 peloy Exp $
#


option domain-name "corey.org";
option domain-name-servers ns1.example.org, ns2.example.org;

default-lease-time 600;
max-lease-time 7200;

option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;
option broadcast-address 192.168.1.255;
option routers 192.168.1.254;
option domain-name-servers 192.168.1.1, 192.168.1.2;
subnet 192.168.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
range 192.168.1.10 192.168.1.200;
}
</code>

I am at a loss. eth0, as you can see, seems fine. eth1 does not even have the static address assigned in interfaces. eth1.avahi (what is that anyway?) has an address but it is pointing somewhere else entirely.

I would greatly appreciate it if someone would point out where my mistake is or ask for info I haven't provided here.

Thanks,
Walt

PS moved this to new thread....

marrusl
January 11th, 2011, 01:50 AM
Hi Walt,

I don't know if this will solve your whole problem, but you should uncomment the line "#auto eth1" from /etc/network/interfaces, I'm pretty sure that's why you aren't getting an IP on that nic.

I would also always try to stay away from UEC components and DHCP. Eucalyptus really, really doesn't like IP address changes. If you want to stick with DHCP, I'd suggest making sure the addresses of your node controllers never actually change (using MAC address mapping on your DHCP server would do, for example).

Hope this helps,
Mark

wcorey
January 11th, 2011, 08:20 PM
Hi Walt,

I don't know if this will solve your whole problem, but you should uncomment the line "#auto eth1" from /etc/network/interfaces, I'm pretty sure that's why you aren't getting an IP on that nic.

I would also always try to stay away from UEC components and DHCP. Eucalyptus really, really doesn't like IP address changes. If you want to stick with DHCP, I'd suggest making sure the addresses of your node controllers never actually change (using MAC address mapping on your DHCP server would do, for example).

Hope this helps,
Mark

I moved away from my original idea of having everything but node controllers on my desktop machine and have a second machine loaded with 10.10 Server with essentially the same setup from above except I do have auto specified (it caused some issue on the desktop) and I did not touch the dhcp. I merely gave a range of 192.168.0.n addresses that I'd never use. It actually works fine except for another problem I added on this thread of the node controller server, itself, being orphaned on 192.168.1 and not being able to get to the outside world which is on 192.168.0. I am not sure that isn't intentional except how does one upgrade the node controller itself? Instances work fine as they are assigned 192.168.0 addresses by the cluster controller.