PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 10.10 installation failure, apt configuration problem

scquote
January 10th, 2011, 05:16 AM
Hi! This is my first time installing or using anything linux related and I'm having a problem installing the thing.

Used both a USB (Unetbootin) and a CD to install but neither works and both give me the same error:

Apt configuration fail; an attempt to configure apt to install additional packages from the cd failed.

followed by a

Installation failed (or something similar).

Any help is appreciated.

Bucky Ball
January 10th, 2011, 05:17 AM
Go for 10.04 LTS. You will get a smoother ride as a new user. 10.10 has issues at the moment. ;)

If you have the same issues with that we can start digging ...

Welcome!

scquote
January 10th, 2011, 05:38 AM
Just downloaded; I'll give it a go.

Edit: 10.04 installation worked but I still got the "apt configuration problem" error. I don't entirely know what that means :[

Redsandro
January 15th, 2011, 03:41 AM
I have the same problem when installing Ubuntu 10.10 x64 from USB created with unetbootin and, on a different machine, Lubuntu 10.10 i386 from USB, also created using unetbootin.

This is a serious flaw in the installer. I don't get what a bug like that is doing in an operating system installer three months after the release. Is there a command to skip the install additional packages from the (non-existing) cd?

-edit-

Description of problem:
When trying to install Ubuntu 10.10 from USB, ubiquity crashes with this message: "An attempt to configure apt to install additional packages from the CD failed."

Root of problem:
The problem is that the file structure on the usb differs to what is on a livecd and apt-setup is unaware of this.

Workaround: