PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to install Ubuntu onto a USB key.

Howlin1
January 10th, 2011, 01:48 AM
Hello. I am a noob at Linux and I would like to know how to install Ubuntu onto an 8gb USB key. I have version 10.10 of Ubuntu. Is there anything I should/shouldn't do?

mlamorey
January 10th, 2011, 01:54 AM
I have not done this, but I just installed 9.04 and then 10.04 on two different laptops. What you ask, should be simple.
Get or make a 10.10 CD
Boot from the 10.10 CD
- this may require pushing delete or F2 during boot up to get into your bios and rearranging the device boot priorities to move the CD in front of the HDD. While there you might want to put the USB devices in front of the HDD also.
Once you boot from the Ubuntu CD it should be an option to install it to a USB device. Along with other options like boot from the CD, install to the HDD etc.

Hope this helps
Cheers,

wilee-nilee
January 10th, 2011, 01:57 AM
Hello. I am a noob at Linux and I would like to know how to install Ubuntu onto an 8gb USB key. I have version 10.10 of Ubuntu. Is there anything I should/shouldn't do?

Are you familiar with installing Ubuntu and the grub bootloader?

Howlin1
January 10th, 2011, 02:09 AM
No sorry I don't know anything about installing Ubuntu and grub bootloader.
At the moment I have it on a 2gb USB key. I only put it on that (I didn't install it) to see how it was.

wilee-nilee
January 10th, 2011, 02:21 AM
No sorry I don't know anything about installing Ubuntu and grub bootloader.
At the moment I have it on a 2gb USB key. I only put it on that (I didn't install it) to see how it was.