PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Install menu fails to appear

kaylatron
January 9th, 2011, 05:32 PM
I'm trying to install ubuntu from a disc that I downloaded and burned. I'm currently using windows vista, which recently got a virus and had to be reinstalled, so I decided to try ubuntu instead. My problem is that when I reboot my computer with the disc in the drive, it appears to be starting to boot, but instead of a menu, a purple screen with a picture at the bottom appears. I'm not very good with computers, but a couple of years ago I tried booting an older version of ubuntu to test it, and that worked just fine. I'm not sure what the problem is and would appreciate some help.
Thank you.

Edit: I'm trying to install ubuntu 10.10, and I'm currently downloading ubuntu again to burn onto another CD, in case the CD is the problem.

kaylatron
January 9th, 2011, 06:15 PM
I'm now having a slightly different problem: It gets past the loading screen, only to tell me that there's an error and it is unable to mount, or something along those lines.

Edit: "Can not mount /dev/loop0 (cdrom/casper/filesystem.squashfs) on //filesystems.squashfs"

dino99
January 9th, 2011, 06:19 PM
always burn with the slowest speed

http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=10161428&postcount=2

kaylatron
January 9th, 2011, 06:28 PM
So you think it's likely to be a problem with the CD because I didn't burn it slowly enough?

kansasnoob
January 9th, 2011, 06:28 PM
Maybe this will help:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BootFromCD

dino99
January 9th, 2011, 06:34 PM
So you think it's likely to be a problem with the CD because I didn't burn it slowly enough?

as i understand, its not a cd issue as you get "the purple screen with white dots" right ?

so try to boot without acpi:
edit the boot line from grub menu (hold "shift" key down at end of bios process if you dont see the grub menu by default)