PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Kernel installation failure

Evandar
January 9th, 2011, 01:46 AM
Hey all

I'm quite new to the whole using Ubuntu (and Linux in general) thing. I recently realised that I could use Linux to "revive" old machines, and have set it as my goal to actually get all old PCs in my house working again using different variants of Ubuntu, while learning how to use the OS in the process. And now I got stuck while installing the OS on an old Laptop. It's an HP Omnibook XE-3, with a Pentium III 1066 MHz cpu and, supposedly, 256 MB of RAM. However, for some reason the computer only reads 248 MB, so I've been forced to resort to an alternative disc installation. Since the old HP has a broken CD tray, I've been using an external hard drive to boot the image, created with Ubuntu's startup disk creator, instead of an actual CD rom (I doubt that makes a difference, but just in case)

There are two main issues which have really left me with no obvious (for a newbie) alternatives. Firstly, when the text installation procedure reaches the "Installing base system" part, an error message appears saying that no kernel could be found on my Drive, so the installation fails. If I try to skip installing a kernel temporarily, it lags horribly and produces multiple errors, dying shortly after.

The second problem is that I can't actually do a command line boot to try and manually figure out a way around this. Selecting the command line installation mode on the main installation menu changes nothing, and it's a normal text install which runs instead. Unable to access the command line, I find myself pretty helpless.

If someone can help me figure out why my kernel is apparently missing, I would be very thankful. Alternatively, if you can provide command line help (accessing and perhaps using it as well), I would very much appreciate quite specific instructions in using it, since, as I said, I'm a newbie.

Thanks in advance.

Joe of loath