PDA

View Full Version : Procrastination...that damned thing

infestor
January 8th, 2011, 05:38 PM
as a procrastinating MSc student, i wonder what methods you guys have to overcome procrastination?

madjr
January 8th, 2011, 06:34 PM
i love this video about procrastination:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4P785j15Tzk

yeah... thats my life most of the time... :(

is really , really hard, but you need to know what makes you procrastinate.

this world has become a world of consumerism and that is almost equal to procrastination.

unless you get some clear goals to lessen your consumerism and exchange that to become a productive person, you'll never break the bad habit. You need to write down a plan to accomplish your goals.

my best advice is what ever you want to do, start today (Now if possible!), don't leave it for tomorrow...

WRDN
January 8th, 2011, 07:16 PM
To attempt to get around it, I try to write myself a list of jobs to do, and the time that that job should be completed. It's certainly not fool proof, but it does give you short term goals which can help greatly.

For example:

- Job #1 , 30 minutes
- Job #2, 1 hour
- etc.

Irihapeti
January 8th, 2011, 07:49 PM
Here is what I've found helpful for dealing with procrastination.

Start doing something, however small, on your project. If you see your project as a single entity, something that has to be done all at once, it can seem overwhelming and that causes you to put it off.

E.g. if you have a load of papers to file, don't saying "I must do the filing." Instead, undertake to put away three items. You'll feel better for having started, and chances are that you'll end up doing more, anyway.