PDA

View Full Version : Choosing Ubuntu 10.04 over Dual boot - Any regrets?

OldBoy44
January 7th, 2011, 04:25 PM
I currently am using Wubi with XP with only 40 Gb hard disk. I am seriously considering taking the plunge and installing Ubuntu as my sole OS. I was wondering if any of you have taken this step and if you have any regrets?

I have found with Wubi that virtually all of my needs could probably be realized with Ubuntu. I am a 67 year old newbie and not really into things such as gaming (other than chess).

Any response will be welcomed!

Cheers, :p

rjbl
January 7th, 2011, 04:37 PM
Done that a year ago. absolutely no regrets. Go for it
rjbl

NightwishFan
January 7th, 2011, 04:41 PM
If you are sure it will cover all your needs, then I agree, go for it. Ubuntu will only continue to get better and have more software support as time goes on. The only think you have to do is make sure that you back up data for the installation and be careful and look up reviews about devices you buy to see if they are compatible with Ubuntu.

I also recommend you install Ubuntu 10.04 to take advantage of the 3 year support. You can use a newer one if desired though.

Here is a cool resource: http://ubuntu-manual.org/

cgroza
January 7th, 2011, 04:47 PM
I did it in 2008 and it got me rid of the game obsession. Go for it.

OldBoy44
January 7th, 2011, 04:47 PM
Thanks rjbl, NightwishFan and cgroza.

I have already downloaded the manual!

:p

NightwishFan
January 7th, 2011, 04:50 PM
I should also give a nod to this site if you have something that might be better answered in the form of Q&A. Some very very smart people post there.

http://askubuntu.com/

Spice Weasel
January 7th, 2011, 04:50 PM
Did it years ago with a SUSE disk I found lying around after a crash, no regrets. Go for it!

t0p
January 7th, 2011, 04:58 PM