PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] <ask> My Ubuntu 10.10 don't have hibernate mode



Matadewa
January 7th, 2011, 02:44 PM
hi all. . .
i wonder why my ubuntu 10.10 don't have hibernate mode, as i remember in my previous install ubuntu 10.10 (in sama notebook) it's available
i already don't have hibernate mode since, i format my last install ubuntu because driver vga. . . so i think it's not because not compatible software
if it's hidden by somethings or bug how to show it again?

plucky
January 7th, 2011, 03:16 PM
hi all. . .
i wonder why my ubuntu 10.10 don't have hibernate mode, as i remember in my previous install ubuntu 10.10 (in sama notebook) it's available
i already don't have hibernate mode since, i format my last install ubuntu because driver vga. . . so i think it's not because not compatible software
if it's hidden by somethings or bug how to show it again?

Most likely you have not mounted the swap partition.Open a terminal and post output of
free -m will tell us if the swap partition is mounted.

If not post output of
sudo blkid
sudo fdisk -l
cat /etc/fstab
cat /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume


Good luck

sikander3786
January 7th, 2011, 03:17 PM
Your Swap partition should be greater than or at least equal to the amount of RAM ;-)

Please post the output of this command.

Applications > Accessories > Terminal:


free -m

Matadewa
January 7th, 2011, 03:25 PM
Your Swap partition should be greater than or at least equal to the amount of RAM ;-)

Please post the output of this command.

Applications > Accessories > Terminal:


free -m

i already set my swap 2x ram
my ram is 3gb so my partition for swap is 6gb

this is code for "free -m"
total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 2688 979 1709 0 82 482
-/+ buffers/cache: 413 2275
Swap: 5999 0 5999

Matadewa
January 8th, 2011, 01:24 AM
i'm waiting for answer :)
sory just for this threat not too deep in list

plucky
January 8th, 2011, 09:39 AM
i'm waiting for answer :)
sory just for this threat not too deep in list

It would be helpful if you posted the information requested in post #2 as it seems your swap partition is mounted
Swap: 5999 0 5999

Matadewa
January 8th, 2011, 11:50 AM
sory for my bad atitude before
i just read for sintaks free -m

this is the code

matadewa@matadewa-notebook:~$ sudo blkid
/dev/sda1: UUID="a8b0b815-4f1a-4893-b917-4ecbae7ed936" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sda2: LABEL="Swap" UUID="8cc28e62-eccc-43e5-8a0d-0f8d3f98927a" TYPE="swap"
/dev/sda3: LABEL="MyBackup" UUID="44CFF548775F8B19" TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/sda4: LABEL="Tietha" UUID="6876BC4A76BC1AB0" TYPE="ntfs"
matadewa@matadewa-notebook:~$ cat /etc/fstab
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid -o value -s UUID' to print the universally unique identifier
# for a device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name
# devices that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc nodev,noexec,nosuid 0 0
# / was on /dev/sda1 during installation
UUID=a8b0b815-4f1a-4893-b917-4ecbae7ed936 / ext4 errors=remount-ro 0 1
/dev/sda2 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/sda3 /media/MyBackup auto ntfs,umask=000 0 0
/dev/sda4 /media/Tietha auto ntfs,umask=000 0 0

matadewa@matadewa-notebook:~$ cat /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume
RESUME=UUID=47ed0764-0019-4d04-816b-9226db0af5cb


i already try check if my OS support hibernate mode or not
with code

pm-is-supported --hibernate
echo $?
pm-is-supported --suspend
echo $?

and both of them give return value 0 which mean supported right?

but when i try this code

pm-is-supported --suspend-hybrid
its' give return value 1, which mean not supported

then i try to enter hibernate mode with terminal by

pm-hibernate
and it's works
but in top right toolbar it's still don't have list for hibernate
what is mean?

sory if this post too long
and sory again for my bad atitude

plucky
January 8th, 2011, 01:02 PM
/dev/sda2: LABEL="Swap" UUID="8cc28e62-eccc-43e5-8a0d-0f8d3f98927a" TYPE="swap"



RESUME=UUID=47ed0764-0019-4d04-816b-9226db0af5cb

You need to change the value of /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume
to the value specified by the sudo blkid command, as that is what specifies where it should look to resume from hibernate.

Then reboot to use the new values.

Good Luck

Matadewa
January 8th, 2011, 03:21 PM
sory i still don't too understand

this is default value of /etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume

RESUME=UUID=47ed0764-0019-4d04-816b-9226db0af5cb

i just change it to this

RESUME=UUID="8cc28e62-eccc-43e5-8a0d-0f8d3f98927a

or copy all, like this

/dev/sda2: LABEL="Swap" UUID="8cc28e62-eccc-43e5-8a0d-0f8d3f98927a" TYPE="swap"

thanks for reply

plucky
January 9th, 2011, 01:14 AM
Change it to
RESUME=UUID=8cc28e62-eccc-43e5-8a0d-0f8d3f98927a
so that it knows where to go to reload the hibernate information.

Then reboot

Good luck

Matadewa
January 9th, 2011, 05:36 AM
finally my hibernate mode back
thanks plucky