PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Biting the bullet!

fwlii
January 7th, 2011, 04:54 AM
I have been happily using Ubuntu 10.04 inside Windows XP for the last 3 months as a dual-boot install. Ubuntu has been flawless and has made my old Compaq desktop run like a supercharged race car! Now I'd like to bite the bullet and 1) Repartition my entire harddrive, 2) Do a clean install of 10.04 and 3) Install Virtualbox and run XP as a guest OS inside Ubuntu as I have Windows 2 apps that I have paid licenses for that aren't offered and don't run under Linux.

I would like to preserve all of my currents settings, etc. from my existing Ubuntu environment, but I just did a basic install, so I don't have /home running in a separate partition.

I'm a Linux newbie, but a 30-year developer and admin in the IBM world, so I am pretty intuitive. Any suggestions/advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

prince_sabin
January 7th, 2011, 07:06 AM
If your ubuntu is on a separate partition right now then you can delete the windows partition and resize your ubuntu (using gparted from the live cd). If you want to reinstall or have a wubi install. Here are some tips:

All your settings are in your home directory. They are named starting with a dot (.) which means they are hidden. Use ctrl-h to see them. When you backup your home directory grab all those files too. When you restore home directory all your setting come with it.

If you have your programs installed through the repository, then you can use this trick to install all those programs (and packages) again:

http://linuxandfriends.com/2008/11/13/backup-and-retrieve-list-of-installed-packages-for-quick-software-restore-in-linux/

Bucky Ball
January 7th, 2011, 07:11 AM