PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Windows 7 doesn't boot and wants to recover

stargazergal62
January 6th, 2011, 09:58 PM
I downloaded Ubuntu 10.10. Initially, I had the problem on the "Who are You" screen and was told that lower case letters were needed. Long story short, I was given a work-around since there was a partition on my hard drive. Ubuntu installed correctly - works just fine. However, upon booting up, if I choose Windows 7, it takes me to Recovery and wants to reinstall factory specs. What's the best way to resolve this? Is going back to factory specs and then reinstalling Ubuntu a viable option? This is brand new computer and I've downloaded nothing - wanted to make sure everything was working fine before I did that - so I would have no problem with doing that. I'm extremely new to Linux/Ubuntu, so I'm a little lost on all of this. Thanks for the help.

garvinrick4
January 6th, 2011, 10:18 PM
There should be a boot menuentry in grub2 to choose either Windows 7 or Windows 7 recovery.
rick@rick-HP-G71-Notebook-PC:~$ grep menuentry /boot/grub/grub.cfg

menuentry 'Ubuntu, with Linux 2.6.35-23-generic' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
menuentry 'Ubuntu, with Linux 2.6.35-23-generic (recovery mode)' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
menuentry 'Ubuntu, with Linux 2.6.35-22-generic' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
menuentry 'Ubuntu, with Linux 2.6.35-22-generic (recovery mode)' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+)" {
menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+, serial console 115200)" {
menuentry "Windows 7 (loader) (on /dev/sda1)" {
menuentry "Ubuntu, with Linux 2.6.32-26-generic-pae (on /dev/sda10)" {
menuentry "Ubuntu, with Linux 2.6.32-26-generic-pae (recovery mode) (on /dev/sda10)" {
menuentry "Ubuntu, with Linux 2.6.32-25-generic-pae (on /dev/sda10)" {