PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] GTK vs. KDE

Opposes
January 6th, 2011, 05:14 PM
So I'm fairly new to Linux, and I just replaced my Mac OS X with Ubuntu 10.10. I know some pretty basic things about Linux, and some things are cloudy.

Basically I download a distro of Linux that gave me an option between KDE and GTK before, I'm not sure which distro.

After I fully installed Ubuntu last night, I started looking for must own add-ons like Wine, and the new desktop ui eyecandy. I eventually came to a YouTube video where the "guru" apparently was using Spore with Crossover. What attraced my attention most was his UI. He was able to change the window borders, icons, and it looked like he was using GTK. But to be honest, I'm not entirely sure what's the difference between GTK and KDE really is. Now I'm automically assuming Ubuntu is using GNOME and that it turn is GTK? On a different distro though I remember clicking on some kind of application that changed the UI a slightly and GTK symbols were in place of the regular icons. Is this the case with Ubuntu?

Basically I would like to cusomtize my desktop ui so i can do whatever I want.

Like I said I'm fairly new, so if this doesn't make since or what not, I can try and clearifiy.

cgroza
January 7th, 2011, 12:39 AM
The main difference is the interface. KDE emulates the Windows style a little bit. KDE is written in Qt wich makes it look good with Qt apps and GTK apps just don't fit in many times and vice versa. Finally, this is a matter of taste. Try them both and pick the one you like. You can have them both installed. On ubuntu all you have to do is:

sudo apt-get install kubuntu-desktop

sandyd
January 7th, 2011, 02:39 AM
So I'm fairly new to Linux, and I just replaced my Mac OS X with Ubuntu 10.10. I know some pretty basic things about Linux, and some things are cloudy.

Basically I download a distro of Linux that gave me an option between KDE and GTK before, I'm not sure which distro.