PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New Ubuntu user, native LCD resolution = bad aspect ratio...

31Orcas
January 6th, 2011, 10:02 AM
Hello!

I'm new to Ubuntu, and, long story short, I screwed up the partition table on my 500GB hard drive (it's still alive though :)). So Ubuntu made me go and get a 1.5 TB WD Caviar Green hard drive (which we couldn't really afford... $69.99 + tax at Fry's).

I've been using Ubuntu for about 2 days now, and I'd like to get some more info on how it installs and what types of files it uses, ect.

I'm planning on dual-booting Windows Vista Home Premium and Ubuntu 10.10.

On a side note, Ubuntu says "1.3 TB free space" when I go to Places > Computer... I didn't install anything yet except for the updates.

So, my main problem that has also bugged me in both Windows and still persists in Ubuntu is that my monitor's native resolution doesn't have a good aspect ratio. It's not wide enough; it's too compressed horizontally. The image quality is beyond amazing compared to when I had it in 1152 by 864, however, my vision doesn't seem to enjoy horizontally compressed images.

Is it at all possible, with any OS, to change the aspect ratio of the screen and not the resolution?

Thanks in advance!

amjjawad
January 6th, 2011, 10:28 AM
Hello!

I'm new to Ubuntu, and, long story short, I screwed up the partition table on my 500GB hard drive (it's still alive though :)). So Ubuntu made me go and get a 1.5 TB WD Caviar Green hard drive (which we couldn't really afford... $69.99 + tax at Fry's).

Screwing up the Partition Table does not require to buy a new HDD unless the HDD is totally dead.
Formatting the HDD will fix lots of issues and if not, then low level format is the last solution.

I'm planning on dual-booting Windows Vista Home Premium and Ubuntu 10.10.
Check my signature, you'll find all what you need.

On a side note, Ubuntu says "1.3 TB free space" when I go to Places > Computer... I didn't install anything yet except for the updates.