PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu and ATI video cards

Raven2911b
January 6th, 2011, 12:56 AM
Hello all

First, I am a complete newbie to Ubuntu/Linux/non-windows OSes

I am having quite a time to get my installation to work properly. I have 3 ATI cards in my PC that run very well under Windows. One AGP Radeon 9200 and two PCI Radeon 9250. They, unfortunately, do not run under Ubuntu.

I have installed Ubuntu 10.10 assuming that the drivers would work, but no drivers are listed and I can't get any to install at all.

I have been at this for 2 days trying to install/uninstall drivers to see the cards, so I am going to try a different approach. ... and now the question

Which version of Ubuntu will recognize all 3 video cards? I read that 6.0 will work, but I want to hear it from expreienced users before I dump 10.10 and try another version.

I had grandiose plans of having Ubuntu and Wine that would run the Windows programs that I needed and see all three screen... just the way I do now under windows.
Now I just want to see my video cards instead... lol

Raven2911b
January 7th, 2011, 10:41 AM
anyone have any ideas on how i can get ubuntu to at least "see" the other two pci cards?
at this point, i dont even care what the resolution is... tired of staring at one good screen and two black ones.

Raven2911b
January 8th, 2011, 11:23 AM
is there anyone here?

snisarg
January 8th, 2011, 11:32 AM
i am new to ubuntu too, and have a laptop with ATI radeon.
just after installation, ubuntu detected that all drivers were not available, and i had to separately install drivers for ATI Radeon.

so this is what i did...

System>Administration>Additional Drivers

on clicking, it starts a window which searches for additional devices and their drivers. If they are successfully detected, please install the drivers from there and activate them.
I am not sure what your problem is exactly, but i hope this helps

cascade9
January 8th, 2011, 11:34 AM