PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Windows Installer Questions

Zoomy
January 6th, 2011, 12:15 AM
I have installed Ubuntu 10.04 on three older computers with sluggish Windows, and each time I have used the WUBI installer so that I can dual-boot.

About 3 years ago, I was able to boot a Ubuntu install disc, and configure dual booting with Windows without too many problems, however now I cannot figure out how to do this now.

Question One: Is it possible to boot Ubuntu 10.04 from CD and configure a dual boot system? Each time I've attempted this, all choices seem to lead to eradicating the old partition.

Question Two: I have a system now that is dual booting Windows and Ubuntu, but the machine needs a clean install of Windows XP Home on the Windows partition. Is this possible without disurbing the GRUB menu?

Thanks,

jaythedogg
January 6th, 2011, 12:26 AM
Now I am no expert, but I believe you can reinstall Windows without disturbing the Grub loader. I say this because when I went to install Windows, it asked me if I wanted to format C or dual boot with my old OS... Then again, is the boot info in the Windows directory or is it in the master boot record outside the windows partition?
Not entirely sure, but maybe one of the guru's can help you...

...Then pop over to my thread & help me with my infuriating headache maker! Click here btw... (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1660499)

Frogs Hair
January 6th, 2011, 02:37 AM
I set up the Ubuntu partition from Windows disk management by shrinking the free space. When I come to the partition portion of the Ubuntu installation , I choose that partition and there is no chance of overwriting anything.

ekjsim
January 6th, 2011, 04:00 AM
Maybe, you should just delete all partition, and resize your HDD with Windows. Then, you should use the windows installation disk to repair the MBR. Get a new grub and a new ubuntu OS.

presence1960
January 6th, 2011, 04:41 AM