PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Why is 32 bit the recommended install?

Rich.d.berry
January 5th, 2011, 12:44 PM
I am brand new to Linux. My brother is trying to convert me. He gave me an Ubuntu 9.10 disk which he got packed with a magazine. It installed relatively easily but I had some issues. I decided to try a fresh installation to the latest version.

I have an AMD Athlon II X2 64 bit processor in my new desktop PC. My first Ubuntu download installation was the 32 bit 10.10 version. I selected this because it was "recommended" on the download page. Unfortunately there is no information given as to why it is recommended. Can someone please explain?

Following recommendations on this forum I am considering installing the 10.04.1 LTS version, but would go 64 bit instead. Would I stand to gain anything over the 32 bit version by doing so?

I have Windows XP Professional waiting in the wings should it be required. Early indications are good that I will keep Ubuntu.

Thanks in advance.

fballem
January 5th, 2011, 01:12 PM
I have an AMD Athlon II X2 64 bit processor in my new desktop PC. My first Ubuntu download installation was the 32 bit 10.10 version. I selected this because it was "recommended" on the download page. Unfortunately there is no information given as to why it is recommended. Can someone please explain?

This is my personal opinion, based on my own experience (2+ years running ubuntu). The main reason for the 32-bit recommendation is that most current software - especially third-party products, such as sun java, flash, and lightscribe - are built to be installed on a 32-bit system (the lowest common denominator). There may be other reasons as well.

What you lose by going 32-bit is access to RAM above 3 gigabytes.