PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] dlink DWLG520+card wont instal

Owndu
January 3rd, 2011, 10:34 AM
I have just installed unbuntu 10.10 on an old AMD seperon 3000+ pc and can run it ok on a wired network but cant get wireless to run at all
i have downloaded ndisgtk and the other stuff which it suggested in the synaptic manager
and applied them
when i go to wireless drivers in admin it allowed me to select an xp driver from cdrom and instaled new driver netrt61g but theres a note underneath the driver, "hardware present : NO" i restarted but it still wont pick it up
i have to say im a complete noob to ubuntu and linux and ive spent lots of time to get this far though have been using open office for a while on windows
if any one can help i be very grateful:confused:
oh i also down loaded drivers for the card from Dlink website but could not find an INF. file at all in the files

chili555
January 3rd, 2011, 03:06 PM
This suggests that the correct driver is gplus.inf. Did you try that?

http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/ndiswrapper/index.php?title=D-Link_DWL-G520%2B

Owndu
January 4th, 2011, 12:08 AM
Thanks for the Reply

No I have not tried this, I have downloaded it, But i am again at a loss because this file like the one I got from D link contains no INF.file so I dont Know how to use it to get it installed?

chili555
January 4th, 2011, 12:29 AM
I could attach it, but the searchers will never learn. You need a package called unshield. If you can temporarily get a wired ethernet connection, do:
sudo apt-get install unshieldIf you must transfer files on a USB key or similar, you can download this: http://packages.ubuntu.com/maverick/unshield

Be sure to select your version if it's not Maverick (10.10) and either the 32- or 64-bit version. Install with:
sudo dpkg -i unshield*You can right-click the downloaded driver file and then do:
cd Downloads/dwl-g520+_rev_bx_driver_v3-00