PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Moving, copying and removing multiple files at once in terminal

niteling
January 2nd, 2011, 01:26 PM
Hi I'm relatively new to ubuntu and i was wondering how i would go about removing multiple files/folders in a folder at once. What do i use to separate the names. I would like to know this for copying and moving aswell.

Thanks

theozzlives
January 2nd, 2011, 01:32 PM
you could use wildcards like

rm /path/to/file/*.jpg

copy = cp

move = mv

to rename you go

mv oldname newname

Be careful with rm. Used incorrectly can be very dangerous! You're safer if you use Nautilus.

Miter_J
January 2nd, 2011, 01:44 PM

rm /path/to/file/*.jpg

copy = cp

move = mv

to rename you go

mv oldname newname

Be careful with rm. Used incorrectly can be very dangerous! You're safer if you use Nautilus.
It seems to be quite easy to use "*.jpg" to achieve this. But how to operate files that cannot be bound together by "*"? For example, I wanna move files abc and def to another folder, is there a command that could work?
Just like
mv abc&def anotherFolderthough this command could not work. I wonder if there're commands that are similar like that

bikodog
January 2nd, 2011, 01:48 PM

rm /path/to/file/*.jpg

copy = cp

move = mv

to rename you go

mv oldname newname

use these parameters on the commands listed above for safety:

-v = verbose output - displays the files as they are being moved
-i = prompt - prompts before overwriting existing files

these can be combined as -vi

example:

mv -vi /path/to/oldfile /path/to/newfile

bikodog
January 2nd, 2011, 01:50 PM
It seems to be quite easy to use "*.jpg" to achieve this. But how to operate files that cannot be bound together by "*"? For example, I wanna move files abc and def to another folder, is there a command that could work?
Just like
mv abc&def anotherFolderthough this command could not work. I wonder if there're commands that are similar like that

like this:

mv -vi abc def /path/to/anotherfolder