PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Domain pointing help

emumu
January 2nd, 2011, 08:11 AM
Hi all, I am new to the server stuff and I just signed up for a VPS service for a WordPress. I have finally set up everything I need for my site to display the blog page, that's say DoONE.com. Now, I have another domain name, DoTWO.com, that I'd like to pointing to the same blog site. Same document root.

I went to my domain registrar of DoTWO.com and changed the nameservers to ns1.DoONE.com and ns2.DoONE.com. What else do I need to do from my server end to make this happen?

I think I am missing something so when I enter DoTWO.com into the browser, it resolved with a "You don't have permission to access / on this server.
Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request." message.

Also, another stupid question, I have my DoONE.com working in the browser, but when I type in www.DoONE.com (http://www.DoONE.com), it resolved to the Google search page. Where do I have to configure so both URL (with www AND without www) would point to my blog site?

Thanks for any insights!!! :confused:

Funkey Monkey
January 2nd, 2011, 08:17 AM
This is not the correct forum to solve your query.

Ask Google.

fabricator4
January 2nd, 2011, 08:31 AM
Also, another stupid question, I have my DoONE.com working in the browser, but when I type in www.DoONE.com (http://www.DoONE.com), it resolved to the Google search page. Where do I have to configure so both URL (with www AND without www) would point to my blog site?

Thanks for any insights!!! :confused:

This is probably (certainly) the wrong forum for you questions, but...

It takes some time for the data to propagate around the domain name servers, so allow 24 hours and try again. In my part of the world this process can be measured in days rather than hours, so YMMV.