PDA

View Full Version : Why we cant assemble laptop pcs like desktop pcs?

Martial-law
January 1st, 2011, 09:51 PM
I cant understand why we cant assemble laptop/notebook pcs for ourselves as we can assemble desktop pcs according to our requirements. If all the parts are available I think there is no way that assembling our own laptop/notebook computers is not possible. May be its the laptop/notebook companies which are responsible for this as I think they prohibit the manufacturers of parts to sell them in open markets. But I think that hardware manufacturers could create a very large market and do a handsome business if they sell laptop/notebook parts in the open market. What do you think about that? Why in your opinion we cant assemble laptop/notebook pcs ourselves? And do you think it would be possible in the future?:guitar:

sprocket10
January 1st, 2011, 11:07 PM
As a mechanical engineer, my first thought is I think each laptop form factor is designed to handle up to a certain thermal load, therefore you cannot put super-fast processors in a tiny chassis w/o overheating. This allows the manufacturer to produce specific frames for their machines, reducing or eliminating upgradability, which they profit from nicely.

There is one company I know of that does make laptops with interchangeable parts: Shuttle.
http://spa.shuttle.com/main/check?pageName=about_shuttle
I tried to build one on their website, but it appears you have to be a business to get access. I suppose it hasn't matured enough yet. We can hope though.... :)

tgalati4
January 1st, 2011, 11:43 PM
Have you ever done a complete laptop tear down? And then try to reassemble it so it works again? It's not trivial.

Adding memory or replacing a hard disk is pretty straight forward on most laptops. (There are exceptions--partially-eaten fruit).

Try replacing a cracked screen or broken hinge (with the VGA cable running through it) and you will run screaming.