PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu Sever Text interface ?

Aaron A. Dennis
January 1st, 2011, 09:29 PM
Hello everyone,

I am very new to Ubuntu Forums just activated rite before i started this tread. Please forgive me I understand the annoyance of superfluous threads I searched through three sets of key words and skimmed 600 ish pages and did not find an answer to my question.

I would like to make my Ubuntu server a bit more pronounced, I want to be able to read things clearly and I would like to see some color. But I don't want a full blown GUI (gnome, KDE) I need different font sizes and hoping for colorful font.

I would like it to resemble Damn Small Linux before it loads X thats my only example i love how that looks can anyone point me towards how to set that up or to a script or apt or something?

Thank you.

solar george
January 2nd, 2011, 12:31 AM
You can configure the console font by running;

sudo dpkg-reconfigure console-setup
As for colours and the like take a look at http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/howto-linux-unix-bash-shell-setup-prompt.html and try running byobu (you should read about using screen and byobu if you're going to be doing a lot of work at the console anyway)

LewRockwellFAN
January 2nd, 2011, 12:37 AM
I'm not sure if this will help. Sounds like you know more than I do. But since there are 0 replies I'll post this on the chance it MIGHT.

If you have NO gui (rather than simply not wanting to use it as a matter of routine) this may be irrelevant. But from a terminal I can click edit, profile-prefs and that lets you change some colors. I use white on black. And from the Gnome desktop I can click System, Preferences, Appearance, Fonts tab, and the settings there affect the appearance of fonts in the terminal.

P.S. - Well there were 0 when I hit reply. Snails type faster than me.

solar george
January 2nd, 2011, 12:47 AM