PDA

View Full Version : Python or Java?

Red Kelly
January 1st, 2011, 10:35 AM
Gday I'm new to programing but have an idea for a music player was wondering what laungage I should use to create a frontend for the player?

It wont need to play music just look pritty and send comands to server, like a remote app.

I ask about pythin or java as I hear they are a little bit less of a steep learning curve but I am open to any suggestion.

Thanks

Red Kelly
January 1st, 2011, 01:24 PM
Think I'll go with Python.

PaulM1985
January 1st, 2011, 01:25 PM
What language is the server going to be written in?

I think either language would be ok. I think most people on this forum would recommend Python. I personally prefer Java.

Both Python and Java have good user interface capabilities. In Netbeans, a Java Integrated Desktop Environment (IDE, which is something that helps you develop your programs), there is a designer that allows you to drag and drop user interface components onto a panel. This makes it easy to create user interfaces quickly. I am not sure if there is an equivalent for Python.

Whatever you choose, I am sure there will be plenty of people on this forum to help you out if you get into problems.

Paul

MadCow108
January 1st, 2011, 01:47 PM
there are also good gui builders for the many gui toolkits python supports, like QtBuilder, GtkBuilder (glade), Boa Constructor (wxWidgets), ...

trent.josephsen
January 1st, 2011, 03:42 PM
I'm new to programing

Python

Nytram
January 1st, 2011, 07:25 PM
If you want it to be cross-platform I'd go with Java. If not, then I think Python would be easier to learn and develop for.

MadCow108
January 1st, 2011, 07:44 PM
python is cross plattform too
at least as long as you don't use unix specific features, but the same holds true for java

Nytram
January 1st, 2011, 07:47 PM
python is cross plattform too

I know it is.