PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problem at Boot...ICEauthority and Nautilius???

robbrownu
December 31st, 2010, 04:00 PM
(apologies in advance if I"m posting in the wrong spot...this is my first time on this board)

My new install of Ubuntu on my Dell PC had been working fine until this morning.

It gets to the login, I enter my password and get the following errors. After a long pause, where it seems to freeze on my password login screen, the message says:

1. Could not update ICEauthority file /home/robert/.ICEauthority
2. There is a problem with the configuration server. (/usr/lib/libconf2-4/gconf-sanity-check-2 exited with status 256).
3. Nautilus could not create the following require folders: /home/rober/Desktop, /home/robert/.nautilus. Before running Nautilus, please create these folders or set permissions such taht Nautilus can create them.

Rebooting in recovery mode doesn't solve the problem. I also went to the boot screen and tried a few of the obvious selections (freeing up space, fixing errors, etc.).

I've read a few threads, and it seems like there's an obvious fix to this that involves creating some folders using command prompts. Problem is, I'm an ubuntu noob, and don't know exactly what steps to follow.

Can someone give me step/step instructions on what to do? I frankly don't even know what Nautilus is, and I'm willing to uninstall it if that's easy (and one can provide instructions).

Thanks!
Rob

robbrownu
December 31st, 2010, 05:02 PM
uh oh...may have made the problem worse.

I followed some of the suggestions in the following chain of posts here. Using this, I was able to log in, but I entered what seems to be a perfectly clean version of Ubuntu...with no access to my files.

http://art.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1553056&page=3

Some of the commands I entered in the terminal included:

sudo chown -R Robert:Robert /home/Robert

AND

sudo nano /etc/gdm/custom.conf

Anyone got any other ideas?

ajgreeny
December 31st, 2010, 05:34 PM