PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] missing operating system after installation

faridym
December 31st, 2010, 11:05 AM
Hi,

I'm new to Linux and wanted to get experience with Ubuntu Server for my new build NAS, because just a NAS OS wouldn't be enough for me. I wanted a server so I can also setup a PDC and webserver.

So currently I'm installing ubuntu server 10.04 onto my newly assembled server via usb stick(didn't build in dvd rom drive) I checked the BIOS before loading the OS onto the computer and everything is detected.

there's 1 thing that keeps bugging me. After installation i get a message that the install is complete and usb sticks and all devices should be removed to prevent it from booting the install again.

However when i remove the usb stick and I reboot the server I get the following message on the screen:

missing operating system

or

can't find operating system

When I do let the usb stick in, it boots into Ubuntu Server and i can see all my configurations that I made eventhough during install I chose to install it on the HD and paid attention to it I wouldn't touch the usb stick.

From here on i could configure the rest, like samba, and give my server an static ip address via the command line (this is so cool for me, to do from CLI, hahaha)

Back to my problem: what can i do to make my server boot from HD without that I have the usb stick in?

Sylchat
December 31st, 2010, 11:40 AM
There are few possibilities about what happened:
Perhaps you didn't install on a hard disk, but on the USB itself. When you boot up your Ubuntu, you can check which partitions you see and check if they're empty and containing system files.

I you find a partition that contains ubuntu (and which is not your USB key), you should check in your BIOS which device/hard disk is set for booting.

faridym
December 31st, 2010, 11:50 AM