PDA

View Full Version : Real Noob just trying out C

CaptainMark
December 30th, 2010, 11:39 PM
Hi, id say im still a beginner in python at the moment but I wanted to try C aswel so i just got a book (which unfortunately is not linux specific) and im getting stuck in on the compiling which is totally new to me, i have this C file
// beginning with c
// a first test with the c language
// mark skinner 30 dec 2010

#include <stdio.h>

main()
{
printf("Hello C World. ");
}
ive named it test.c and then ive run this
gcc test.cWhich has produced a file a.out, heres my probably stupid noob question: What do I do then? Im assuming this is a type of executable but running it in a terminal does nothing, this small hitch is stopping me from getting too far, im sure ill be off making c programs left right and centre as soon as i figure this out.
Thanks for your help,
Mark

bouncingwilf
December 30th, 2010, 11:45 PM
To execute a.out just type ./a.out in the terminal

if you compile with gcc -o test test.c you will generate an executable called test (./test to run)

Bouncingwilf

kknd
December 30th, 2010, 11:47 PM
Strange, it worked here. Try the following (adding a line break):

#include <stdio.h>

int main()
{
printf("Hello C World.\n");
return 0;
}

The a.out is the executable. You can change the name of the output file by using: gcc code.c -o myappname.

It is a good practice to compile with -Wall to (gcc -Wall code.c ...) to show more warnings.

CaptainMark
December 31st, 2010, 12:02 AM
Thanks, all i wasnt doing was the ./test.out i got how to name your executable but adding -Wall to the options wont compile it i get this error
mark@mark-desktop:~/Documents/programming/c/chapter_1$ gcc -Wall test.c -o test.out
test.c:8: warning: return type defaults to ‘int’
test.c: In function ‘main’:
test.c:10: warning: control reaches end of non-void function
mark@mark-desktop:~/Documents/programming/c/chapter_1$